

### INSPECTIONS NEWSLETTER

### Important Vehicle Inspection Information

Pennsylvania's Vehicle Inspection Program

#### WINTER 2024 ISSUE

#### PAGE 1

Fees For Safety Certificates Of Inspection Inspection Stations Must Maintain Regular Business Hours Number of Safety Inspections Allowed Per Hour

#### PAGE 2

**Online Resources** 

#### PAGE 3

Frequently Asked Questions

#### PAGE 4

Safety Inspection Tips Emissions Inspection Tips

#### PAGE 5

**OBD** Vehicles Denied Waivers



# INSPECTIONS NEWSLETTER

pennsylvania DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION



### **Fees For Safety Certificates Of Inspection**

The fee for the annual safety inspection stickers is \$11.00 and the purchase price for the semi-annual stickers is \$9.00. Updated fee schedule signs should be posted to reflect the current fees.

Official Inspection Stations may charge \$2.00 plus the purchase price of the sticker in effect at the time of replacement for windshield replacement stickers.

#### **Order Online**

It is easy to place an order for new stickers through PennDOT's Station Portal. First, login to the Station Portal – https://www.inspections.penndot.gov – with your User Name and Password.

Then, click on the "My Station" tile. You will see the Station Summary window. Below the information about the station, you will see three tabs. Click on the "Sticker Orders" tab and then the "Place Sticker Order" button on the right-hand side of the screen. Complete the sticker order form.

Keep in mind that when ordering stickers online, stickers are ordered by sheets of 10, not individual stickers. For example, entering a 2 means you are ordering 20 stickers (2 sheets of 10). When ordering online, the fee is calculated automatically. Online orders allow you to track the progress of your order. After the transaction has been completed, you can view the sticker order on the Station Summary page.

Once you have completed your order, select a payment method. You can pay by ACH (electronic check) or credit card. If you pay by ACH, you will be redirected to the PA.GOV payment site.

Please note: When paying by credit card or ACH, it is critical that all information entered is accurate. If any of the information is incorrect, payment may not be received for processing by PennDOT. This could result in a penalty fee and a hold being placed on the account until payment is received.

PennDOT strives for timely fulfillment of your order. Please allow fourteen business days for delivery of your inspection stickers before calling to check the status of your order.

If you have any questions, please contact the Vehicle Inspection Division at (717) 787-2895.



#### Inspection Stations Must Maintain Regular Business Hours

All certified inspection stations, including Safety, Emissions and Enhanced, must be open during normal business hours. An inspection station must be open for business a minimum of 40 hours per week, Monday through Friday between 7 a.m. and 5 p.m.

#### Number of Safety Inspections Allowed Per Hour

A certified Safety inspection mechanic may not inspect more than:
(1) Two vehicles (other than motorcycles) per hour
(2) Three motorcycles per hour *Reference: PUB-45: 175.28. Certified Inspection Mechanics*



### **ONLINE RESOURCES**

There are several websites that provide information on the Pennsylvania vehicle inspection program.

### PennDOT Driver and Vehicle Services Website www.dmv.pa.gov

PennDOT inspection manuals (in English and Spanish) are available free online. Downloaded PDF files can be saved to workstations or inspector's tablets for quick reference. Inspection bulletins, along with annual inspection charts, can also be found on the PennDOT website.

To view inspection documents online or download a PDF version for future reference go to: www.dmv.pa.gov

Then select – Forms, Pubs & Maps. Next, filter the

CEPARTER S	OF TRANSPORTATION			
FORM	S, PUBLIC	ATIONS, AND M	APS	
IMPORTANC: Some ercounter lances, pl Acceler and all feats most up for date and built in FOF when	testures used in our PDF scours ease open the document using yo res should now work. However, i accurate documents. If you are a	ette litzy not work when using censer in foreaser ar browser then dowinaethawa it to your compute do hot recommend saving these documents for ang existive technology, we recommend amp Adde	severs, such as Micros r as a PDF document. Isture use, Always rets Acritical to read the doce	with Edge and Google Course. If you Open the saved POF with Addes at here to bit sam you are viewing the event, within than your with imaging the
Investor is commit mighter in a cipter	led to providing its qualitimets will format by filtering or searching fo	assivities in an eco-friendly and accessible marvie those terms in the list perces	. To that end, most of	our forms, publications and maps ans
For intormation on d T17-412-5300	nver issensing (DL) androk motor	veriicle (MV) forms in publikations, prease commo	Drug and Menica Ser	tions Clistimer Call Came staff at
Print suggest of select	led Publications and Maps may b	a protend using out Sales Slove Prov List and Did	te form (PDF), which	alley includes from forms.
If you are assisting a	map and it is not listed on the Sat	en Store Lief, please check our Misco page		
For information on a ket submission.	ny other types of PennDOT Form	s or Publications, please email form, and Publication	and staff, Forms altered	ad not be sent to this e-mail address
Per previous version	of contraction standards, and a	the Decision of Concession program		
Please note: Some name PenadesFDR	forms can now be completed, sig I versions of these forms will com	net and submitted traine. Compatible forms will in ince to be available as normal.	Skate Technol, Sub-	silation" behave the torm
PILTER RESULTS	ar			
Document Type		Tak	-	and the second se
Select Desmark Type	4 T	Impedire	- PLTER I	P HANNE RO
Number of Items:	100 E)			
Des Non-	and the second s		Simil Types S	and 2
H117-00	interior trader for Degar Carty properties (Identi-		Publishi	Impetitions, Matter Valuets
OL-MOL	Representation of the International Matters		Aum -	have Resident
DL-5	Attactives Laurence & Permit Application for Antil ( Danies   Repeat/ / Ubargel / Connet		Form	Dress Liberaing, Monorpute
0.4			-	Commission Driver, Driver Licensing
0.000	And Constraints From		-	Commence Driver Driver

results. Select Document Type – Publication. Choose Topic – Inspections. You will then see a list of available manuals, bulletins and other documents.

To view the latest Safety Inspection Bulletins online - go to www.dmv.pa.gov/safetybulletins.



### PennDOT Inspections Portal www.inspections.penndot.gov

Registered users of the PennDOT inspections portal can access a variety of station information including adding or deleting inspectors and placing online sticker orders.



#### PennDOT e-SAFETY www.penndotesafety.pa.gov

- Electronically capture your inspection records in this online system that ensures every inspection is entered completely
- View the latest issue of the Inspections Newsletter
- Get VIN Decode and Recall Information

#### Drive Clean PA Website www.drivecleanpa.state.pa.us

Consumer information website about Pennsylvania's vehicle emissions inspection program. The site provides answers to frequently asked questions about emissions inspections, emissions region details and other related information.



PAGE 3



### **Frequently Asked Questions**

#### Windshield Sticker Is Unreadable

**Q** - I am doing a windshield replacement and it is within the 5-day window. However, the original sticker was not provided on a piece of glass. It was just scraped off, getting crinkled and is now unreadable. How do I issue a replacement?

A – If you cannot read the required mileage and date information from the original sticker, you must do a new complete inspection. In the case that the vehicle was originally inspected at your station, you can refer to the original work order to obtain the required information and issue a replacement sticker.

#### OBD VIN Discrepancies And Verification

**Q** - I got a warning that says, "The Entered VIN and the Vehicle's OBD VIN do not match." Can I still proceed with the test?

A – Inspectors who receive this message on the analyzer during a test should verify that the VIN number entered in the analyzer, either manually or by scanning, matches the VIN number on the vehicle's registration, as well as the vehicle's VIN plate or door jam.

Inspectors should verify the car being physically tested is the same one shown on the registration. Handheld scan tools can be plugged into the vehicle being inspected to verify the e-VIN corresponds with registration card.

Have Other Questions? Contact the Inspection Station Operator Hotline 888-265-5909.

#### PAGE 4



## **Safety Inspection Tips**

- Be sure to check the vehicle registration paperwork with the vehicle that you are inspecting, to verify that they match. Once you have confirmed it is correct, you can scan the registration for the inspection.
- When checking for the gross weight of a vehicle, check for the listing on the door frame, NOT the registration paperwork.
- Before beginning an inspection, check to see if there are any recalls for the vehicle, by going to www.penndotesafety.pa.gov. Look for the Vehicle Search in the lower right side of the landing page screen. Click on the link and input the vehicle's VIN number and search for



related decode and recall information. If an open recall exists, notify the customer and document the recall information on the customer's work order.

<b>~</b> -	

# **Emissions Inspection Tips**

- Vehicle owners are not required to show proof of insurance for an emissions inspection. They only need to have a valid vehicle registration.
- Be sure to check the vehicle registration paperwork with the vehicle that you are inspecting, to verify that they match. Once you have confirmed it is correct, you can scan the registration for the inspection.
- ✓ Check the VIN number for the vehicle. If it does not match, do NOT ignore the analyzer message.
- When checking for the gross weight of a vehicle, check for the listing on the door frame, NOT the registration paperwork.
- It's important to pay close attention to questions regarding the Malfunction Indicator Light bulb during testing. Incorrect answers may result in a car passing that should have failed.
- Physically check the MIL bulb status in correlation with the questions. Bulbs that are not operating properly can be dangerous and, ultimately, costly for customers. A faulty MIL bulb could result in critical issues going unnoticed until it's too late.

### **OBD Vehicles Denied Waivers**

Some Inspectors are reporting that when trying to issue an OBD waiver, they are getting a "waiver denied" message from the analyzer's (PAS Unit). There are three known possible causes for this scenario:

#### 1. Vehicle model year 1996 in the Pittsburgh / Philadelphia regions

Model year 1996 OBD vehicles in the Pittsburgh / Philadelphia regions will be denied a waiver by the analyzer's (PAS Unit) logic. This is based on the county designation of A or T and the equipment specification waiver logic. The analyzer will abort the waiver process at the county entry screen.

To resolve this issue, the inspector should select #97, "Other OBD County," instead of selecting the actual county of registration. The waiver process will then proceed.

Please note: this only applies to model year 1996 vehicles in the Pittsburgh / Philadelphia regions. Vehicles registered in OBD counties are not affected.

### 2. Vehicle information does not match

The "waiver denied" message may also appear if the vehicle information that was submitted during the first emissions test does not match the information entered during the second test. Be sure to double check that the vehicle information from the original test is the same for the retest. This information includes the vehicles VIN, Title, and license plate number.

#### 3. Vehicle has failed the gas cap test

When performing a waiver on a vehicle that meets the requirements, the waiver process cannot be completed unless the gas cap passes the pressurization test on the emissions equipment. If a certified repair technician receives a message that the waiver cannot be applied to the vehicle, the repair technician should verify that the vehicle's gas cap has passed the test. If the gas cap has failed, a new one must be installed, and the vehicle emissions must be inspected before the system approves the waiver process.

#### Emissions Inspection Waiver Inserts

When a vehicle has failed an I/M emissions test; the owner has met the \$450 minimum emissions-related repair expenditures; and the vehicle still fails the I/M emissions test, the owner may be eligible for a waiver.

#### Only Certified Repair Inspectors (waiver licensed) with a valid driver's license are authorized to process requests for and issue waivers.

The waiver allows for an emissions sticker to be affixed to the vehicle with a "waiver" insert. The waiver does not mean that the vehicle has passed the emissions test. It only indicates that it has met the requirements to obtain an emissions sticker through the waiver process. The waiver is valid until the next inspection cycle is due.

